Board members present at Spring 2017 meeting, with guests Abuna Aref Yamin and Elias Abu Ghanima from the Mar Elias Educational Institutions in Ibillin

Board Members – Pilgrims of Ibillin, 2017

The Rev. Dr. Duncan Ferguson, President

Retired university educator, author, and Presbyterian pastor, Higher Education Executive, Freeland, WA

 The Rev. Dr. Robert Sawyer, Vice President

Retired Moravian Pastor and Church Executive, and immediate past Executive Director of Pilgrims of Ibillin, Winston Salem, NC

The Rev. Thomas Pietila, Secretary

United Methodist clergy and hospital chaplain, Florence, SC

Don Liebich, Treasurer

Retired business person, Foreign Policy Consultant, Author of Fault Lines: Understanding America’s Role in the Middle East, member of Episcopal Church, Hailey, ID

Christopher Dekki

Educator, Maronite/Melkite, Laity Coordinator for Pax Romana UN Advocacy Team, Long Island, NY

Mr. Billy Ekofo

Real estate agent with Century 21, northern Virginia, Ashburn, VA

The Rev. Dr. Lucy Forster-Smith

Presbyterian Pastor and Campus Minister, Cambridge, MA

The Rev. Dr. Peter Henry

Senior Pastor, Grosse Pointe Memorial Presbyterian Church, Grosse Pointe, MI

Dr. Giselle Khoury

Boston University: Master Lecturer in Arabic, Head of Arabic Language Proagram, Former Mar Elias teacher, Melkite Catholic, Watertown, MA,

The Rev. Dr. Lamontte Luker

Professor of Hebrew Scriptures, Lutheran Southern Theological Seminary, Dean of the Jerusalem Center for Biblical Studies

Dr. Brenda Mehos

Hospital pharmacist, member United Methodist Church, Boulder, CO

Ms. Sarah Morgan

Leader of software quality assurance team, Epic Systems, Madison, WI

Rev. Susan Mozena

Presbyterian clergy, Hospital Chaplain, former health care administrator

Jane Settle

Presbyterian laity, retired high school science teacher, Mar Elias Volunteer, Bound Brook, NJ

Ted Settle

Presbyterian laity, retired from State of New Jersey, Mar Elias Volunteer, Bound Brook, NJ

George Shalabi

Retired businessman, native of Haifa, classmate of Abuna Elias Chacour
Prairie du Sac, WI

Mr. James Thomson

Presbyterian Layman, retired administrator from University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Rev. Charlotte White

UCC Clergy, retired prison and retirement home chaplain, Guilford, CT


Contact Us

Executive Director:

The Rev. Joan Deming
608-241-9281 office/home
608-235-1046 mobile

Order Books and DVDs:

  • IMG_0776
  • IMG_0775
  • IMG_0764
  • IMG_0765
  • IMG_0760
  • IMG_0756
To donate by check, make payable to Pilgrims of Ibillin and mail:
     Pilgrims of Ibillin c/o Jitasa
     1750 W Front St, Suite 200
     Boise, ID 83702

Pilgrims of Ibillin is a 501c3 nonprofit and donations are deductible under US tax law. Our tax # is 38-3243253.
To be added to our NEWSLETTER snail-mail or email lists, send an email with your request to